Just Me

“I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; I know that full well.” Psalm 139:14 NIV

When I started (and up until the moment I wrote this) thought that I had to be the perfect writer. I thought I had to write as many stories and books as James Patterson and my words had to beautifully flow and be as meaningful as Maya Angelou. what’s the point of doing what I do if I’m not the best? If I’m not the best, who is going to want to read my work? If no one reads my work then how will I become the next Shonda Rhimes? Wouldn’t I be a failure if I’m not the best?

Fortunately, I was reminded that God doesn’t expect me to be James Patterson, Maya Angelou or Shonda Rhimes. He wants me to be me. He knew who I was and who I  would become before He created me in my mother’s womb. He’s the one that called me to write. He loves me and all my geeky weirdness. He knows all of my insecurities and flaws yet He still chose me to encourage people through my writing. I don’t understand it and sometimes I feel unworthy of this call but nevertheless, I will do it. I will trust Him to guide me and help me through my journey.

My success isn’t based on how many books or short stories I sell. It’s not based on how many views my blog gets and it’s not based on how many people follow me on Facebook and Twitter. Success, in God’s eyes, is based on whether or not I have done what He has called me to do.

“You are my servant; I have chosen you and not rejected you. So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” Isaiah 41:9-10 NIV

Author: balm4thesoul

Tammy is a freelance writer who currently writes devotionals and short stories (inspirational, mystery, suspense and mainstream). She has articles and short stories published in Believers Bay online magazine. She was awarded 2nd Place in the Inspirational Category of theWriter's Digest 80th Annual Writing Competition.

Leave a Reply

