Missing

When I decided that I wanted to write, I didn’t realize it was a call from God. I didn’t even consider consulting Him on what I should write. I just wanted to write stories that were entertaining. I planned on being on the New York Bestseller List, make millions of dollars and have my books turned into Oscar nominated movies. Nope, I wasn’t expecting much at all.

I wrote my short stories and submitted them to several publications and writing contests and sat back and waited for the acceptance letters to roll in. What actually rolled in was one rejection letter after another. I became frustrated and discouraged. How could this be happening, I thought. All my friends loved my stories.

In my heartbreak, I finally got some sense and asked God what I should do. We can never leave God out of our plans, no matter what they are. God doesn’t want to be a part of our lives just on Sundays, He wants to be included in every facet of our lives. Once I realized that God was missing from my plans, I repented and I eventually received clarity. I allowed Him to direct my path and that’s when the real adventure began.

“Many are the plans in a person’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails.” Proverbs 19:21 NIV

Author: balm4thesoul

Tammy is a freelance writer who currently writes devotionals and short stories (inspirational, mystery, suspense and mainstream). She has articles and short stories published in Believers Bay online magazine. She was awarded 2nd Place in the Inspirational Category of theWriter's Digest 80th Annual Writing Competition.

Leave a Reply

